Jonathan Reynolds MP

Representing the communities of Stalybridge, Hyde, Mossley, Longdendale, and Dukinfield
labour and coop candidate jonathan reynolds

Armed Forces APPG

The Armed Forces All party Group was set up in June 2010, in order to promote a better understanding of the UK's Armed Forces, their objectives and their activities in Parliament.

It is chaired by Conservative MP James Gray. And Jonathan Reynolds holds the position of Secretary.

Currently there are more than 200,000 men and women serving in the British Armed Forces, either as professionals or volunteers. And with ongoing operations in Afghanistan and Iraq many have seen active service.

Jonathan Reynolds believes it's important that the contribution - and sometimes sacrifice - of serving members of the armed forces and their families are recognisded in Parliament and across the country.

In his first speech in the House of Commons Mr Reynolds said he hoped that in his time as a Parliamentarian he would be known as "a friend of the country's armed forces".

And following his election as Secretary of the Armed Forces APPG, he said: "There are a significant number of people from Stalybridge and Hyde who are members of the Armed Forces.

"They serve in some of the most troubled parts of the world, often in difficult conditions. And they show outstanding devotion and service to their country – which deserves our admiration and our gratitude.

"Today more than ever before it’s important that our armed service men and women have a voice in Parliament and that their role is more widely recognised.

"I hope that by taking on this role in the All Party Group for the Armed Forces I will be able to play a part in raising awareness of their contribution, representing their views and fulfil my promise to be a friend to the country’s armed forces."

Other MPs to hold office in the APPG are: Lord Lee of Trafford (Deputy Chairman), Chris Bryant (Deputy Chairman), Angus Robertson (Deputy Chairman), Caroline Dineage (Vice chairman, Royal Navy), Bob Stewart (Vice chairman, Army), Madeleine Moon (Vice chairman, Royal Air Force), Oliver Colville (Vice chairman, Royal Marines) Lord Moonie (Co-treasurer) and Mark Pritchard (Co-treasurer).


get updates