Jonathan Reynolds MP

Representing the communities of Stalybridge, Hyde, Mossley, Longdendale, and Dukinfield
labour and coop candidate jonathan reynolds

About the constituency

The Stalybridge and Hyde constituency covers the areas of Stalybridge, Hyde, Mossley, Longdendale, and parts of Dukinfield. It is the only one of Tameside's three parliamentary constituencies that sits wholly within the boundaries of Tameside Metropolitan Borough Council and, until Tameside's creation in 1974, spanned the municipal boroughs of Stalybridge, Hyde, and Mossley, as well as the urban districts of Mottram in Longdendale and Hollingworth.

The seat was created in 1918 by the Representation of the People Act and has been won by the Labour Party at every General Election since 1945. The last non-Labour MP to represent the area was Conservative, Horace Trevor-Cox, who won the seat in a by-election following the resignation of fellow Conservative, Philip Russell Rendel Dunne, in 1937.


get updates